Cactus Language Courses UK

» Cactus Extras

TEFL Advice

Frequently asked questions

Cactus Scholarship

The Suzanne Furstner Foundation

» Quick Links

Online Courses

The perfect introduction to TEFL

Special Offers

Click here for the latest deals!

Contact Us

Any questions? Get in touch here

» The Cactus to Conference IATEFL Scholarship

Information about the Annual Scholarship

Every year, in April, as soon as the Annual Conference is over, the scholarship application period for attendance at Conference the following year opens up again. The Cactus to Conference scholarship is aimed at a new TEFL teacher with less than three years' experience. The award is conference registration, membership of IATEFL for a year and �400 towards expenses. Applicants are asked to submit an outline, of between 400 and 500 words, of their best lesson so far and why they think it went well. Although it is not a requirement of this scholarship to give a presentation at the IATEFL conference, giving a presentation is part of the full conference experience, so applicants are encouraged to submit a proposal to talk at the conference. The application and the task are to be submitted to IATEFL by the beginning of September, along with the speaker proposal if applicable. The winner of the scholarship is announced in mid October.

The winner is expected to write occasional updates for Cactus on, for example, their reactions to winning the scholarship, their experience at conference, and, six months and a year or so after conference, the effect their win has had on their teaching life.

For more information, go to Cactus to Conference.

» 2013 Scholarship

The winner of the 2013 scholarship is... Louise Cranston ! Congratulations, Louise!

Well done to everyone who took part and good luck for next year!

» 2014 Scholarship

Will you be the lucky winner of our 2014 Cactus to Conference IATEFL Scholarship?

Please check back here for details about application to the 2014 scholarship.

» To read the winning entries, please click on the names below:

2013 winner: Louise Cranston

2012 winner: Elizabeth Pinard

2011 Winner: Camilla Heath

2010 Winner: Fiona James

Join us on FacebookJoin us on Twitter